Last Buy – Nigel Cabourn S/S12 Aircraft Jacket


Although I have enough outerwear to last 10 lifetimes, one thing I’ve been missing this summer is  a lightweight waterproof. I’ve liked the past season Aircraft jackets, but never liked the colourways enough to pull the trigger, until I saw this one in Coggles in York.

The weight is perfect for summer, extremely light, whilst the oil coated cotton fabric makes the garment waterproof (you can really feel the oil on the surface!) Usual Cabourn touches like the rope volume adjusters on the hood add detail to an otherwise plain jacket, with press stud cuffs and two external pockets.

Only complaints would be the hood, which I find a little too small on most Cabourn outerwear, and the fabric is basically translucent if you wear a patterned top underneath it. Apart from those minor details, at £200 in the sales it’s a bargain..

