Cabourn AW11/12 – Mallory Jacket


 

My favourite Cabourn piece, probably worn last years Mallory more than any other jacket I own, could really do with the lightweight version so I can wear one all year. The peacock in me loves the orange, and would’ve been a definite 5 years ago, once you’re north of 30 (and living in the North..) opportunities to wear a garment as bright as this are few and far between unfortunately (plus I couldn’t put up with the tango comments) so the navy will be on my list this winter.

Taken from The Army Gym, ‘The Mallory Jacket is inspired by a jacket worn by Sherpa Norgay Tenzing on his many expeditions to Everest.  Tenzing’s jacket was made of tweed and had patches on the shoulders.  These patches were to reinforce the shoulders and increase durability to enable him to carry supplies up on his shoulder and not ruin the jacket.  Our Mallory Jacket is made with Harris Tweed and 100% cotton Ventile patches on the shoulders and elbows and Corozo buttons.  Bellowed pockets at the bottom of the jacket allow extra space, just like Tenzing’s jacket, and inside the neck is a storm fastener, which was useful for keeping the wind out’.

 

 

 

