Last Buys, Vintage Berghaus Trango Gore-tex


After a difficult day at work super happy to get home and see my latest jacket purchase has turned up, and this one really is pretty special…

When I was around 12 or so and first starting to take an interest in clothes the Berghaus Trango jacket was all the rage with the cool kids in the 6th form, and is one of the first items of clothing I ever obsessed over (this was the time of red Fila hiking boots, Kickers and Chipie, ah those were the days…) . Being Berghaus’s top tier Garment and constructed from Gore fabric, back then it probably retailed around £150-£200, which might as well have been a million to me, it was way out of the mine or my friends price range (I remember loads of snides being around too, my local market being full of cheap Eastern European copies alongside all the moody Ralf polo’s)

Over the years the Trango has developed a cult following in the terrace casual world, with original vintage jackets seling for big bucks (it was recently reissued by Berghaus selling at top menswear boutiques in a very small production run, not the same as an OG of course..)

After scouring Ebay for the last 2 years for a good vintage example, being outbid on several, this beauty finally turned up and happy to say I finished the highest bidder. Good things come to those who wait, it’s in excellent condition, by far the best example I’ve come across. As I fly to Stockholm to visit another weatherwear supplier tomorrow it’ll be put to the test, though Stockholm can’t be any colder than it is in the UK right now….

