Winter Coats, Burberry Prorsum, Dunhill, Nigel Cabourn 2010/11


As the nights are drawing in and the heatings getting cranked up for the first time, my thoughts turn to this years winter jacket. I always treat myself to a decent coat every winter, last years was a Supreme leather down jacket in blue, it’ll be getting plenty of wear again this winter but I’d like something a little smarter this year that can be worn for work too.

I came close to picking up a camel coat last year but held back thinking it was too much dough to drop for something that would be ‘out’ next winter, but they’re back again for AW 2010/11 with a bang, with Dunhill producing my favourite so far. For the cost of a Dunhill it’d be a little hard to live with as an everyday jacket, with regular dry cleaning required, so ruled it out for now (though TK Maxx did have a rather nice Calvin Klein in for a very tempting price last week…)

As I’m heading down to the big smoke next month my number 1 target will be something from the Burberry Prorsum AW 2010/11 line, depending on how reckless with the cash I’m feeling that day..

The grey sheepskin aviator jacket is incredible, if money was no object it’s the one piece I’d pick up without hesitation, I love every detail and I’ve always been drawn towards aviator jackets for some reason. As the RRP is likely north of £2k it won’t be on my back any time soon, so I’ll be setting my sights a little lower on one of the more basic military inspired 3/4 length coats.

My final target for this winter is something from Nigel Cabourn, been sorely tempted to order either the cameraman or mallory jacket for awhile now but really need to try for size first. Present in Shoreditch have the new AW stock in so I’ll definitely be venturing over to try a few things on when I’m in London.

The cameraman jacket is an exact replica of one worn by cameraman Wilfred Noyce on an Everest expedition (photographing Sir Edmund Hilary, I love attention to detail like this,  small details and a good back story really make a difference to me) and features an upper made of Mackintosh and a lower half made of Harris Tweed.

Also loving the Mallory jacket, amazing materials and components used throughout, the RAF blue herringbone Harris Tweed is a beautiful shade, screams quality and is something I could see myself wearing for decades, timeless…

